## DALLAS ELEMENTARY SCHOOL DISTRICT #327 REGULAR BOARD MEETING MINUTES OF REGULAR MEETING APRIL 24, 2025 – 6:00 P.M. ROOM 5

The meeting was called to order at 6:00 p.m.

Members answering roll were:

Bob Castillo	Present	Hannah Moss	Present
Scott Faul	Absent	Sarah Schaefer	Present
Erica Ferguson	Present	Lee Wibbell	Absent
Shasta Heidbreder	Present		

Also present were: Mrs. Tucker, Mrs. Finch, Mrs. Ryner. Ms Katie Smith, Cathie Smith, Phil Butler and Jamey Weinreich.

A moment of silence was observed.

Sarah Schaefer would like to reach out to Illini West and see if they still want to run a shuttle from Lomax and Dallas City up to the Elementary school to meet the IW bus for the summer shuttle.

The consent agenda was presented to the board for review. A motion was made by Heidbreder, seconded by Ferguson, to approve the items on the Consent Agenda as presented (Roll Call).

Bob Castillo	Yea	Hannah Moss	Yea
Scott Faul	Absent	Sarah Schaefer	Yea
Erica Ferguson	Yea	Lee Wibbell	Absent
Shasta Heidbreder	Yea		

Motion carried 5 Yeas, 2 Absent

The Bills were presented to the Board for payment. A motion was made by Heidbreder, seconded by Schaefer, to pay the bills as presented (Roll Call).

Bob Castillo	Yea	Hannah Moss	Yea
Scott Faul	Absent	Sarah Schaefer	Yea
Erica Ferguson	Yea	Lee Wibbell	Absent
Shasta Heidbreder	Yea		

Motion carried 5 Yeas, 2 Absent

The Board Member code of conduct rule #1 was read from the IASB Code of Conduct principles by Hannah Moss.

Mrs. Tucker announced the results of the recent consolidated elected members. Cathie Smith was elected for a 4- year term.

The oath of office was administered by the President to the newly elected member Cathie Smith and all other seated board members including, Bob Castillo, Erica Ferguson and Sarah Schaefer. Lee Wibbell was absent.

A motion was made by Ferguson, seconded by Castillo, to enter the Closed Meeting at 6:10 p.m. to discuss items per 5 ILCS 120/2(c)(3) (Roll Call).

Bob Castillo	Yea	Lee Wibbell	Absent
Erica Ferguson	Yea		
Sarah Schaefer	Yea		
Cathie Smith	Yea		

Motion carried 4 Yeas, 1 Absent

A motion was made by Ferguson, seconded by Schaefer, to leave closed meeting and return to open meeting on April 24, 2025 at 6:15 p.m. (Voice).

A motion was made by Ferguson, seconded by Smith, to appoint Phillip Butler and Scott Faul to the board with a two-year term limit.

The oath of office was administered by the President to the newly appointed member Phillip Butler. Scott Faul was unable to attend the meeting and he will be sworn in at the May meeting.

A motion was made by Ferguson, seconded by Smith, to appoint Schaefer as President Pro Tem (Roll Call).

Phil Butler	Yea	Cathie Smith	Yea
Bob Castillo	Yea	Lee Wibbell	Absent
Erica Ferguson	Yea		
Sarah Schaefer	Abstain		

Motion carried 4 Yeas, 1 Absent, 1 Abstain

The President Pro Tem asked for nominations for President of the Board. Bob Castillo was nominated .

A motion was made by Ferguson, seconded by Smith, to elect Bob Castillo as Board President (Roll Call).

Phil Butler	Yea	Cathie Smith	Yea
Bob Castillo	Abstain	Lee Wibbell	Absent
Erica Ferguson	Yea		
Sarah Schaefer	Yea		

Motion Carried 4 Yeas, 1 Abstain, 1 Absent

The President asked for nominations for Vice President. Cathie Smith was nominated.

A motion was made by Ferguson, seconded by Schaefer, to elect Cathie Smith as Board Vice President (Roll Call).

Phil Butler	Yea	Cathie Smith	Abstain
Bob Castillo	Yea	Lee Wibbell	Absent
Erica Ferguson	Yea		
Sarah Schaefer	Yea		

Motion Carried 4 Yeas, 1 Abstain, 1 Absent

The President asked for nominations for Board Secretary. Erica Stewart was nominated.

A motion was made by Castillo, seconded by Schaefer, to elect Erica Stewart as Board Secretary (Roll Call).

Phil Butler	Yea	Cathie Smith	Yea
Bob Castillo	Yea	Lee Wibbell	Absent
Erica Ferguson	Abstain		
Sarah Schaefer	Yea		

Motion Carried 4 Yeas, 1 Abstain, 1 Absent

The board recognized Shasta Heidbreder for 10 years of service and Hannah Moss for 4 years of service to the Dallas Elementary School District. They were presented with a plaque.

A motion was made by Smith, seconded by Ferguson to schedule the FY 2025 Budget Amendment Hearing for 6:30 p.m. on June 18, 2025 (Roll Call).

Phil Butler	Yea	Cathie Smith	Yea
Bob Castillo	Yea	Lee Wibbell	Absent
Erica Ferguson	Yea		
Sarah Schaefer	Yea		

Motion Carried 5 Yeas, 1 Absent

A motion was made by Ferguson, seconded by Butler, approving to spend funds between July 1<sup>st</sup> until the FY 26 budget adoption for liabilities and expenses (Roll Call).

Phil Butler	Yea	Cathie Smith	Yea
Bob Castillo	Yea	Lee Wibbell	Absent
Erica Ferguson	Yea		
Sarah Schaefer	Yea		

## Motion Carried 5 Yeas, 1 Absent

The discussion on changes for the Sports Co-Op Agreement was tabled until next month.

A motion was made by Ferguson, seconded by Schaefer, to set the date, time, and location of regular Board meetings for the Third Thursday of each month, or as otherwise noted, at 6:30 p.m. in room 44 (Science Room.) The November meeting will be the third Wednesday (Roll Call).

Phil Butler	Yea	Cathie Smith	Yea
Bob Castillo	Yea	Lee Wibbell	Absent
Erica Ferguson	Yea		
Sarah Schaefer	Yea		

Motion Carried 5 Yeas, 1 Absent

A motion was made by Ferguson, seconded by Smith, to approve the Johnson Control Bid for the clock and bell system update for \$19,757.28 (Roll Call).

Phil Butler	Yea	Cathie Smith	Yea
Bob Castillo	Yea	Lee Wibbell	Absent
Erica Ferguson	Yea		
Sarah Schaefer	Yea		

Motion Carried 5 Yeas, 1 Absent

The board had a discussion on a two-hour delayed start. They will vote on it at the May board meeting.

The Superintendent report was given to the board.

A motion was made by Castillo, seconded by Smith, to enter the Closed Meeting at 7:05 p.m. to discuss items per 5 ILCS 120/2(c)(1)(10) (Roll Call).

Phil Butler	Yea	Cathie Smith	Yea
Bob Castillo	Yea	Lee Wibbell	Absent
Erica Ferguson	Absent		
Sarah Schaefer	Yea		

Motion Carried 4 Yeas, 2 Absent

A motion was made by Moss, seconded by Schaefer, to leave closed meeting and return to open meeting on April 24, 2025 at 8:39 p.m. (Voice).

4 Yeas, 2 Absent

A motion was made by Schaefer, seconded by Butler, to approve the Personnel Report as amended (Roll Call).

Phil Butler	Yea	Cathie Smith	Yea
Bob Castillo	Yea	Lee Wibbell	Absent
Erica Ferguson	Absent		
Sarah Schaefer	Yea		

Motion Carried 4 Yeas, 2 Absent

A motion was made by Smith, seconded by Schaefer to adjourn at 8:31 p.m. (voice).

4 Yeas, 2 Absent

The next regular Board of Education meeting will be held May 15, 2025 at 6:30 p.m.

Board President, Bob Castillo

Board Secretary, Shasta Heidbreder

Approved:\_\_\_\_\_